New Music for the Blues

When I’m struggling with depression, I try to manage it by tricking myself into falling into routine. If successful, this usually affords me a bit of focus so I can get some important professional or personal things done. The tricks usually involve using media that can hook me and lift me out of the darkness for a moment – music, a movie, a TV show, a video game, a book, a sporting event. The focus doesn’t last long, and I have to cycle through the tricks to have output approaching minimum acceptable volume, but I count myself lucky that I can function. I know that many other people that suffer from depression can be incapacitated completely.

I’ve had luck recently with recent album releases from artists that I enjoy. Here are some of them.

Cinema – Andrea Bocelli

I adore Bocelli, and I love movies and movie soundtracks. This is a selection of movie themes that Andrea covers. This track is from the film “Once Upon a Time in America”. My favorite track in the album is Mi Mancherai, the theme from the film “Il Postino”.

Hello – Adele

It’s got 207 million YouTube views, so chances are everyone on the planet with an internet connection has seen the video and heard the song. Has there been a more anticipated album in the last ten years?

Storyteller – Carrie Underwood

My favourite American Idol’s new album is really, really good.

1989 – Ryan Adams

When I first heard about Ryan Adams, I thought it was the Canadian rocker that did Summer of ’69. So, there’s this guy without a “B” in his name, and he did a full cover of Taylor Swift’s monumental album 1989. I enjoy good covers as much as anyone. Not all of the reimagined tracks work, but my favourite Tay-tay track from that album is Style, and the Adams version is reasonably different and listenable.

Pentatonix – Pentatonix

I think it’s great that former Sing Off champs and a capella wunderkind Pentatonix debuted at #1 on the Billboard Album Chart. The Pitch Perfect films play the a capella craze and sub-culture for laughs, but good music is good music. These kids are talented, they worked their butts off, and they’re now legitimate artists. (PS: Yes, I loved Pitch Perfect 2. That a capella cover of Fall Out Boy’s “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark” was amazing.

2 thoughts on “New Music for the Blues

  1. Senor Enfuego, update your blog! I’m trying to be more proactive here so I figured pestering you would be part of the process πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜‚πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

