Look Up

“So what’s your muse — what subject do you turn to frequently, more inspired each time?”

I sound like a broken record, so I’ll just post another picture of the cloud-laced sky at dawn.

Here, I’ll let Emerson have a go:

“Write it on your heart
that every day is the best day in the year.
He is rich who owns the day, and no one owns the day
who allows it to be invaded with fret and anxiety.

Finish every day and be done with it.
You have done what you could.
Some blunders and absurdities, no doubt crept in.
Forget them as soon as you can, tomorrow is a new day;
begin it well and serenely, with too high a spirit
to be cumbered with your old nonsense.

This new day is too dear,
with its hopes and invitations,
to waste a moment on the yesterdays.”

11 thoughts on “Look Up

  1. Being adventurous with your clouds, we’ve got them in B&W!! 😛

    My life philosophy is pretty much that last paragraph:

    This new day is too dear,
    with its hopes and invitations,
    to waste a moment on the yesterdays.

    1. Lol. I did say I was a duffer when it came to photography. 🙂 Your Dutch tulips photographs had better be spectacular!

      I do like the Emerson poem, it’s quite elegant while saying things that I would like to live by every day. Sometimes, I’m human and I do human things like hold grudges and worry about things past. That’s why I love mornings. They help remind that the days will march on, blissfully ignorant of peoples’ foibles of yesterday.

      1. Why would my photos have to be spectacular! If they are that good they won’t reach the sugar blog 😛
        I hold grudges a lot, I’m working on it but I don’t forget and I hardly ever forgive…. I’m horrible like that…

        1. If your photos are spectacular you won’t share them with us? 😛

          I can easily believe that you hold grudges. It would fit your personality. Doesn’t make you horrible though!

Leave a Reply

