30 Songs – Guilt

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers. It looks like Sugar is “skipping this nonsense“, so I’ll release it early.

A song that delivers guilt. I won’t comment on the why this song is my choice here, but I will talk about the song itself.

“This is a song… that talks about betrayal; but it also talks about forgiveness.”

Lara Fabian – Broken Vow

By itself, this song is kinda cheesy. Listen to the Josh Groban version. Despite Josh’s amazing voice, it doesn’t have enough pain and regret behind it. It has no gravitas. It’s a different with Lara, who co-wrote the song. This is one of those tracks where watching the video aids a lot in appreciation of the music and lyrics. Watch the bridge section in particular (4:31) – Lara sings the bridge…

I close my eyes
And dream of you and I
And then I realize;
There’s more to life than
Only bitterness and lies.
I close my eyes.

walks away from the camera, pauses, then comes back and launches into the final chorus. Watch her face when she’s returning to the front of the stage, and as she sings the finale.

I’ll give away my soul
To hold you once again,
And never let this promise end.

I’ll let you go;
I’ll let you fly.
Now that I know,
I’m asking why
I let you go,
Now that I’ve found
A way to keep somehow
More than a broken vow.

 You can tell that she paid a price to be able to write this song. It’s visible in her eyes and face, and you can hear it in her voice.

 

 

12 thoughts on “30 Songs – Guilt

  1. I don’t recall ever listening to this song before. It’s brilliant. I watched the video without reading your post and I noticed the bits you described after underneath the video too. She’s amazing. Is she still singing though? Haven’t heard anything new in many years (haven’t searched for it either).

    1. I’ve watched this video many times. It slays me every time. Lara’s last entry on Spotify is 2013’s Le Secret, a French language album. Her last English album is 2009’s Every Woman in Me.

        1. How often do you even speak Portuguese when you’re in London? 🙂 Also, this interests me. When you’re thinking, do you think in English or in Portuguese?

          1. Thoughts are mostly in English, I usually dream in English too. I don’t speak Portuguese very often apart from when I see my family but I have had to translate at work before and speak to Portuguese speaking people. 🙂

    2. I watched it again. You just don’t get that kind of bite on “bitterness and lies” if you don’t know what it means. Lara’s voice is amazing. I assume you’ve heard her on Je T’aime? 🙂

      1. She is amazing indeed and highly underrated. Yes I know her Je T’aime. I originally came across her music through some sort of soap opera when I was younger haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

