30 Songs – Air Guitar

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers. I’m going to change it up a bit and post this ahead of Sugar dear, just to keep her on her toes. 🙂

So this next entry is a song that I’d like to be able to play on an instrument, but obviously can’t. I’ll try to be realistic and pick something that’s within the realm of possibility, but remains unlikely since as I said in the previous 30 Songs post – I don’t have the talent.

Lisa Hannigan – Somebody That I Used to Know

I’m picking this version over the Gotye original, and the Walk Off the Earth version that broke the internet, because Lisa delivers the heartbreak in a plaintive, soul-shattering manner. We all know why. And that voice. It’s the reverse Sia, it stays low and smoky, and goes hoarse then breaks in all the right places. Seriously, Damien, what did you do to this lovely girl? I also love that her voice retains its distinctive Irish brogue even when she’s singing.

I might be able to play this. It can be done on a single guitar (see Walk Off the Earth). Doubtful I’ll ever do it on more than an air guitar though.

17 thoughts on “30 Songs – Air Guitar

  1. Oh booo your blog froze my entire chrome and the comment was never sent.

    To sum up: Don’t like the cover, her voice doesn’t do me much and I got the hint…. you want to get rid of these challenges that have been going on for 6 months!!! hahaha 😀

    I got home not long ago, been too busy indoors and I’m knackered.

        1. You must really be knackered! Read it again. There’s a reason I said “eventually”. 😀 (PS: “Last entry” means entry #30, meaning I haven’t posted it yet.)

          1. I figured it out after replying but I did not have the energy to say anything. I’m on auto pilot at the moment

          2. Before 10.30 is an early night. It’s midnight now so I’m now going to be very tired as I need 8 years sleep and that’s impossible now.. 🙂 again…

          3. Sometimes earlier. My body clock is a funny one. It is very rare to sleep after 6.30. I enjoy the day more anyway, waking up early is good.

Leave a Reply

