30 Songs – The Album Track

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers.

I now get to present a song from my favourite album. As with many of these “favourite” categories, I don’t have just one. The challenge is choosing an album and then a track. I’ll take this opportunity to talk about the “album”  (formerly the “LP” or long-playing album, as compared to a single) as a lost art. It used the be that an album was a coherent work of art. The tracks meant something taken as a whole, and the greatest albums had sums that were greater than its individual parts (ie, tracks or songs). That’s largely gone now, what with the iTunes buy-a-track culture reducing albums to hit songs and filler.

The Police – Wrapped Around Your Finger

Synchronicity remains one of my favourite albums, twenty-five years after I first laid ears on it. I was already a fan of The Police, starting from Ghost in the Machine. I quickly acquired their back catalog, and each of the cassettes had to be replaced at least once each. I bought Synchronicity three times on cassette, and three more times on CD before getting it digitally in FLAC format. Built around Sting’s fascination with Arthur Koestler’s writings on the work of Carl Jung, the songs on the album combine amazing musical breadth with brilliant lyrics.

“You consider me the young apprentice
Caught between the Scylla and Charibdes.
Hypnotized by you if I should linger
Staring at the ring around your finger.”

I remain a fan of Sting to this day, and have most if not all of his work on CD. Synchronicity was genius, and it was created despite the members of The Police hating each other during the recording. Perhaps that was a component of the alchemy of the album.

6 thoughts on “30 Songs – The Album Track

  1. Another song that I like and unlike me, you did not cheat you’re doing well! haha

    Why did you buy it three times on cassette and another three on CD? I suppose the cassettes needed to be replaced – yes I still remember using them and rewinding them with a pencil 😀 – but what about the CD? What prompted you to buy it so many times?

    For some reason this reminded me of Wuthering Heights videoclip where Kate Bush is dancing in white – not the forest version.

    Ps. As you had already posted this, you left it with the original post date (31st May) so I couldn’t find it on my reader at all or your most recent posts.

    1. Well, it took me a while to pick Wrapped Around Your Finger over King of Pain. Since I already used the Gaga King of Pain version in your Duets challenge I went with Wrapped.

      The cassettes broke! The original just wore out (and I think I left it out in the sun too long) and the second one was “eaten” by the cassette player. I bought the original CD, then the digital remaster version twice (I gave one away).

      Fixed the post date. Thanks!

      1. I’m not familiar with all the songs in that album so I still have to look it up.

        Talking about Duets challenge, what are we doing with that music challenge thing?

          1. Hmmm I’ll choose something next week. Feeling a tad weird at the moment and you’ll end up with a gloomy challenge.

Leave a Reply

