30 Songs – No Airplay

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers.

This installment asks for “a song that you wish you heard on the radio” which I will interpret to mean a song that I wish reached more people. That means the song was never a huge hit.

Echo & The Bunnymen – Bring on the Dancing Horses

I’m pulling this out of the deep, dark treasure trove of 80s British Invasion New Wave music. EATB had some success, but this track was a non-album track that ended up as the only new track on a greatest hits compilation. It also appeared on the stellar Pretty in Pink soundtrack, but was largely unnoticed. The layers of synth and dark, brooding mood is very 1980s. Yes, I realize that this kind of track would be labelled “retro” these days. I don’t care.

3 thoughts on “30 Songs – No Airplay

  1. I know this one! I remember the videoclip too probably from VH1 or MTV when it was music driven. It’s not really the kind of song I would select to listen to, but let’s say I wouldn’t skip it if it came up either 🙂

Leave a Reply

