30 Songs – Me

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers. (Note: Wow, a long time between when I completed the draft for this and when I finally published it. Sugar resurfaced and sort of skipped this one, but had a post on it here anyway. No, I’m not doing this without her.)

The next item is a song that describes me. Ha. I have a few songs on my life soundtrack. The song that I consider my personal theme, Five for Fighting’s Superman, I posted back in the Karaoke version of the Carousel. It’s a great “read between the lines” song. Took to it immediately after hearing it. John Ondrasik has a lot of good stuff; I’ve been following him since America Town in 2001.

Since I don’t like repeating songs on the blog, this is a worthy runner-up.

Duncan Sheik – Half-Life

Maybe, I need to see the daylight
To leave behind this half-life;
Don’t you see I’m breaking down?
Lately, something here don’t feel right;
This is just a half-life;
Is there really no escape,
no escape from time
of any kind?

Half-Life can come across as a song of missed opportunities, of doors not taken and regret. You can also flip it on its head and it reads as a plea or quest for something (or someone) to complete you (which I concede is how most people will interpret it). Either way, it’s a song that’s never left my regular rotation since 2002.

A note on the embedded video – Half-Life appeared on the soundtrack of the 2003 movie What a Girl Wants, starring Amanda Bynes. Amanda has become a poster girl for missed opportunities, which makes the song’s association with her movie all the more poignant.

 

2 thoughts on “30 Songs – Me

  1. I don’t recall ever listening to this song before. I think there’s a big chance I haven’t seen that film either now that I think about it. I liked the song though. It’s a bit of a sad song but I quite liked it, will be added on dinopod.

Leave a Reply

