Clearly, You Ate It

Clarity.
noun
1. clearness or lucidity as to perception or understanding; freedom from indistinctness or ambiguity.

moment-of-clarity“Your eyes deceive you.”

“I see clearly.”

“That is what you believe. What you see is not necessarily the truth.”

“If you cannot trust your own eyes, then what can you trust?”

“You can trust your mind. Your instincts. Your heart and your gut. All of these can bring greater clarity than simple sight.”

“I SAW YOU.”

“You did.”

“I saw what you did!”

“Are you sure what I did was what you think I did?”

“I know what I saw.”

“If you saw a man standing over a dead body, with a bloody knife in his hand, are you certain he is a murderer?”

“What?!”

“If you saw a boy French kissing a girl, do you assume that they are lovers?”

“What does that have to do with what I saw?”

“If you find your spouse naked in your bedroom with a stranger, are you certain that you are being cheated on?”

“Yes!”

“No. You cannot see the mind or heart of a person. That is insufficient to make any kind of conclusion.”

“I saw you throw the empty bag that had my lunch in it into the bin!”

“That does not mean I stole your lunch, much less ate it. I simply disposed of the bag, which I may have found on the ground. Cleanliness is next to godliness, you know.”


This post is a response to the Daily Prompt of January 13, 2015, which was first posted on October 30, 2012. The random word generated at Random Word Generator was clarity. The picture enclosed was the 11th on the Google Image Search page. I was unable to find the origin of the image, or the associated usage rights.

 

Leave a Reply

