30 Songs – Sad Tune

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers.

So the next one asked for is “a song that makes you sad“. As a connoisseur of unhappy music, coming up with options is easy. Selecting one is more difficult. Or maybe not. Some songs are made from singular grief.

The Blower’s Daughter – Composed by Damien Rice

“Did I say that I loathe you?
Did I say that I want to
Leave it all behind?”

Wbat’s worse: Having loved and lost, or having loved and discovering that the object of your passion was a complete lie? I first encountered this song when it was used to great effect bookending the 2004 Mike Nichols film “Closer“. It’s a fitting soundtrack for a movie that explores the brutality of human relationships, and how truth and lie permeate all of our existences. Bonus for Sugar: the film is set in London, and the cast is led by Englishmen Jude Law and Clive Owen, opposite American actresses Julia Roberts and Natalie Portman. Postman’s Park near St. Paul’s Cathedral is featured prominently in a couple of scenes.

Lying is the most fun a girl can have without taking her clothes off… but it’s better if you do.

One thought on “30 Songs – Sad Tune

  1. I quite like that film actually. I love the fact that you chose that song, it was my second option. I decided to go for Alter Bridge in the end because it makes me feel a bit sadder… My next song has been scheduled so it should be up in a few hours.

Leave a Reply

