30 Days, 30 Songs

Sugar asked me to participate in a Thirty-day Song Challenge. Happy to join in with her and post more music. I’m going to alter my participation parameters a bit and only post after Sugar posts hers.

1 – “Favorite Song”

The right answer is that there is no single song that’s the right one for all situations and occasions. However, I do have the song that I’ve made my answer to this question over the years.

Caruso – Composed by Lucio Dalla

This song has been covered by a murderer’s row of artists, from every notable tenor to artists like Julio Iglesias, Lara Fabian and Josh Groban. The premise is simple – a man’s lamentations on his death-bed to his daughter. It’s fiendishly difficult to sing well. I chose the Bocelli rendition here because Andrea has a delicate balance of emotion and technique that lends power to the performance. The other definitive performance would be the collaboration between the composer Dalla and the titan himself, Luciano Pavarotti.

2 – “Least Favorite Song”

I’m going to skip this. There isn’t a “least favorite” song. Sure, some genres I avoid (metal, rap, hip hop) because I don’t enjoy them, but I can’t consider any single song as worthy of such a label because stuff I don’t like I don’t listen to.

4 thoughts on “30 Days, 30 Songs

  1. Very good choice of favourite song. As for the least favourite song, mine came from listening to it on the radio without an option to avoid! 🙂 curious to see your next song!

    1. Well of course it’s a good choice, it’s MY favorite song. 🙂 You post first, Ms Happy Tune. I have my post ready, but will wait until I see yours before I hit publish!

Leave a Reply

