One Beat

Write ’til you’ve read
All thoughts in your head
Put them down to sheet
Or typed to bright screen;

Don’t stop your hands,
Jot fast don’t rest; lest
It all leaves your mind
In a tick or two of time.

Keep the keys or pens
In reach from your bed,
For when you dream
Scenes are fleet it seems.

Hold on, don’t fall short;
Time to storm that fort;
As long as you stay strong
No script shall go wrong.

We’ve run out of time
On this brief lark of mine;
No more than one note
As the day’s prompt wrote.

Hope that the lead next
Will coax more grand text
From our mind’s mill’s run,
Though this one was fun.

I bid ye all good night,
To sleep I yield the fight.

(Yes, I know this sucks. I’m no bard of lore. Still had fun with it. If you read this far, you should get a treat. Now I’m all out of one-beat words. Thank you.)

9 thoughts on “One Beat

  1. Fun to read…the effect of the monosyllables is really interesting – I feel like I’m just playing staccato notes on the piano (which I’m sure it the purpose). It does show the importance of syllable variation, though; if everything was written like this we’d all go mad. Nice one, though šŸ™‚ xx

    1. Oops I said “though” twice within the space of two sentences and I didn’t realise – I’m ashamed. Sorry! šŸ˜›

  2. I wouldn’t even try and go for this… I’d fail miserably.

    By the way, struggling with the Story Tellers theme. I can only think of depressive stuff so I shall wait for your post first. So I can have an idea of what exactly you’re going for. I have 1 song… yes, one!

    1. Maybe you’re looking at it from a different point of view. I didn’t intend for the Story theme to be complex. I’ll post mine then so you can see what I came up with.

      Hey, these silly prompts don’t need to be done seriously. You can come up with a couple of sentences! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

