A Pocket Full of Dreams

“Is there a place — a city, a school, a company — about which you think (or thought) the same? Tell us why, and if you ever tried to prove that claim.”

The World. I’ve always believed that I could make it in the world, no matter what. Why would you gimp yourself by believing that you have less potential than anyone?

We were all born with different circumstances. Do the people that were born into rich and/or powerful families have an advantage? Maybe. Those individuals start with an advantage in resources. But they don’t necessarily have the ambition, the motivation, the raw desire to make something of themselves. One might believe that these traits are inborn, but I disagree. These can be learned, acquired, developed by anyone who simply wants to reach his or her goals, whatever they may be.

We get to prove ourselves every day, no matter what our goals may be. The first step is you prove to yourself that you can belong wherever it is that you want to be. Once you believe in yourself, then you can make others believe. Does it help if the people around you believe in you? Of course. Emotional support is always a benefit. You don’t need to go it alone. But there will be times that your own belief in yourself is all that you’ll have, in the darkest of moments. Be prepared for that eventuality. Believe.

5 thoughts on “A Pocket Full of Dreams

  1. “We were all born with different circumstances. Do the people that were born into rich and/or powerful families have an advantage? Maybe. Those individuals start with an advantage in resources. But they don’t necessarily have the ambition, the motivation, the raw desire to make something of themselves.” I could not agree more with this, funny I spent the day having a similar ideology in the back of my mind.

      1. Self-development vs getting comfortable. I actually had a conversation about this with a couple friends after work too. We went to an Afghan restaurant for dinner and although I cannot recall what prompted the topic, he said he thought I should get a professional course that would then give me access to a computing masters degree considering my humanities and social sciences academic background. This led to me explaining that I am still identifying my career path and saying a computing masters would never make me any better at what I do (I researched it recently). I finished by making a comment that I don’t want to be average at what I do, I want to be outstanding. Again, led to another whole discussion about people wanting all to be different (he loves to argue)

  2. Ah, phone submitted my comment without completing it or even proofreading. So to finish up, he then argued that people all want to be different which doesn’t take them anywhere and I could say I won the argument as by the end he admitted being too comfortable in his current position where he hasn’t developed at all, he lacks ambition whereas I have plenty to give. I have gotten comfortable in the past and wasted a whole year of my life working in a dead end place. I also learnt a fantastic life lesson and I won’t do it again.

    Ps. He comes from a richer background than me, he had plenty more resources which weren’t properly taken advantage of.
    This ties it all up to your post I suppose.

  3. Thanks for the story.

    Career-wise, since you’re still identifying which was you want to go it makes sense to not stay in one place once you’re sure that’s not it. Your friend is wrong, it has nothing to do with people wanting to be different for its own sake. It’s either people wanting to have an advantage in the workplace, or people wanting to be happy. Sometimes if you’re lucky you can end up with both.

    You have a humanities/social sciences academic background, and a couple of years (?) of work experience in web (?). Does doing any of that make you happy?

Leave a Reply

