Music Carousel – Get Your Karaoke On

This is a continuing activity that Sugar and I are doing for our own amusement. Every so often one of us posts a theme, and we both come up with three or more songs that we feel fit the theme. There are no other rules, and the objective is to have fun and maybe have another song to add to our DiNOPods.

For this go-around I chose “go-to karaoke songs”. Sugar claims she doesn’t karaoke, but I do know she plays guitar so there must be a closet performer in there somewhere. Me, I enjoy the occasional trip to the karaoke joint, though these days we don’t get to go that often anymore.

I’ve either already done these songs, or would like to do them the next time around. Doing them well, however, is never guaranteed. It depends on how much alcohol has been ingested at the time. πŸ™‚

Five for Fighting – Superman

“It’s not easy to be me.”

One of my favorite songs because of its theme and construction, “Superman” is also easy to sing. It’s also easy to find on karaoke lists, so it’s always available for queuing.

Bohemian Rhapsody – Queen

“Nothing really matters.”

Everyone knows the song, and even if the lyrics are very strange the karaoke machine has them so it becomes a group activity. I love yelling “Scaramouche! Scaramouche! Will you do the fandango?” and “Galileo! Magnifico!” You’ll never end up singing this one alone, which is the brilliance of karaoke.

Bend and Break – Keane

“Meet me in the morning when you wake up.”

One of those songs that you queue up when the energy is low and people are either drunk, tired or both. Easy to sing, fairly lively, and a damned good song. Not always available on the karaoke lists, but chances are good.

Barenaked Ladies – What a Good Boy

“This song is the cross that I bear, bear it with me tonight.”

This is my karaoke holy grail. If I ever find this on a karaoke list, it’s going in the queue. Sadly, that hasn’t happened yet. You’re more likely to find “If I Had $1,000,000” if any BNL song is to be found on a list at all.

Barry Manilow – Weekend in New England

“When will this strong yearning end?”

I’m including this song because I end up doing it every time. I can do the lyrics from memory, so it’s great when I can’t read the machine’s lyrics after a bunch drinks. Is it sappy? Yes, it’s Barry freaking Manilow. It’s still a great song, and no one can convince me otherwise.

2 thoughts on “Music Carousel – Get Your Karaoke On

  1. Hey you’re the one that started ignoring the three song rule. So it’s officially changed to “3 or more” but ideally not more than 5 or our posts will start to get bloated quickly. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

