The Truth Function

The truth is subjective. Humans are complex beings. Our minds play tricks on us. That is why truth serums (popularly, sodium thiopenthal) and polygraphs are unreliable. Just like people.

“I don’t know.”

“I can’t remember.”

“I’m not sure.”

People can’t even agree on simple things that might seem obvious.

12_77_5---Red-Rose_web
Red Rose by Ian Britton (Freefoto.com CC BY-NC-ND 3.0)

Is that rose red?

“Yes it is.”

“It’s not red it’s dark pink.”

“It’s certainly not fire engine red.”

“It’s red, the lighting’s just too bright.”

“No way, it’s lighter than it should be if it was really red.”

“I have no idea, I’m red-green color blind.”

“I have no idea either. I’m blind blind. Ask my seeing eye dog.”

“Woof. I see in yellow, blue and grey. What does ‘red’ mean? Woof, do you have any rawhide?”

“I’m with the dog. What exactly do you mean by red?”

So yeah. I’d throw that vial of “truth serum” in the trash. There’s no such thing.

3 thoughts on “The Truth Function

  1. I fully agree with you, the concept of “truth” is definitely subjective and the red rose was a perfect example. I personally see a pink rose rather than red. Anyway, truth serums and all other gadgets and ideas to bring up the truth are nothing but perhaps an excuse to make people feel in control and somehow better about what they want to hear. Perception also plays a huge role when it comes to finding, accepting and understanding the “truth”. Greatly written as usual.

    1. Thanks for stopping by again, Sugar. Am I supposed to call you Sugar? šŸ™‚ I’ve always disagreed with anyone who tries to claim that there are Absolute Truths. We’re all so different, and so see everything through lenses colored by our experiences. That’s what makes being human interesting. That’s what makes it fascinating to read what the members of the community put up on their blogs.

      1. My pleasure. Yes you can call sugar if you like. There is no such thing as an absolute truth and in my modest opinion, people who argue in its favour ought to read some philosophical books which might enlighten them.
        I agree with you, reading different blogs is like going through life using different lenses. We all perceive and experience things differently.

Leave a Reply

