Waiting for Godot

Waiting for….?

A woman sitting at a restaurant. She is waiting for her husband. He dropped her off here at the outdoor strip mall and asked her to wait for him, as he had to swing by the office to grab some papers he had left. She happily agreed. Over the last hour, she had visited a few of the shops. Her prize for the day is a pair of dark brown flats that will go nicely with the new pair of pants she had made. She’s also found a copy of the book that their daughter had been asking for, the one about fifty shades of some drab colour. She heard that it was racy, but it was in the teens’ section of the book shoppe so it should be okay.

She checks the time. Her husband wasn’t back yet. He’d been gone over three hours now. His office was just a half hour away. She checks her phone. No messages. She tries calling him. Her phone says his phone is ringing, but no one picks up. She tries again. She tries a third time. No response.

Maybe he’s still in the office? He always said his carrier’s signal was weak where his cubicle was. Maybe he left his phone in the car. His battery could have died. She decides to order an appetizer and a drink while waiting. The waitress takes the order – spinach and artichoke formaggio on toasted bread, and an iced tea. Complimentary warm rolls with olive oil and balsamic vinegar are provided. The air is cool in the al fresco dining area. A light breeze rustles the leaves of the trees.

Her phone beeps. It’s his message tone. He’ll be back soon. She signaled to the waitress, thinking to order his favourite pasta so it would be waiting when he arrived. Entrees noted, the girl swept back into the restaurant.

She clicked on the keys and called up his message.

“Honey, this is the hardest thing I’ve ever had to write. I’m a coward for texting it, but I can’t say it to your face. I’m so sorry. I’m leaving you. I met someone else. We are on a plane right now, and the door has just closed so I’m turning my phone off. It’s not you, it’s me. I need space. I want to start over. All the money in our account, keep it. Everything I leave to you. Please take care of Kathryn. I will miss both of you, but I need to do this. I am so sorry. I hope that one day you will both forgive me. Goodbye.”

A few meters away, a stranger’s camera clicks.

Leave a Reply

